Minnesota's primary seat belt law requires passengers in all seating positions, including the back seat, to be buckled up or seated in the correct child restraint. A seat belt fine is $25 but can cost more than $100 with court and administrative fees. Also enforced is Minnesota’s strengthened child passenger safety law that requires children to be in the correct restraint until they are age 8 years of age and 4 feet 9 inches tall. This law requires booster seats for kids, usually starting at age 4, to ensure that adult seat belts fit them correctly.
Properly wearing a seat belt reduces the risk of fatal injury to front seat passenger occupants by 45 percent in a car and 60 percent in a light truck. Seat belts are the most effective means of protecting oneself from injury while riding in a vehicle.
There are four things that you can do to likely to save your life while operating a vehicle on Minnesota roads: buckle up, drive sober, pay attention, and drive at safe speeds.
The South Lake Minnetonka Police Department and surrounding agencies have been stepping up seat belt and child seat enforcement. Please buckle up!